Pages

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

#REVIEW: Be The Best Mom You Can Be by Marina Slayton



Title: Be The Best Mom You Can Be
Series: none
Author:  Marina Slayton, Gregory Slayton
Published Date: April 14, 2015
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Format: hardback
Pages: 256
ISBN: 9780718022143
Genre: Christian parenting
Add to: Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon

Rating: 3 stars

Synopsis: Marina Slayton and her husband, Gregory, best-selling author of Be a Better Dad Today, reveal the secrets to finding true joy in the sacred role of motherhood. Using story, humor, empathy, common sense, and straight talk--grounded in reality and personal experience--Be the Best Mom You Can Be helps readers from the best and most influential mothers in history. The book centers on a mother's desire for wisdom and her commitment to the wellbeing of her husband and children and provides six time-tested principles (the Six Secrets) for being a truly great mom. In the tradition of Stormie Omartian's and Barbara Rainey's books, the Slaytons offer value-based inspiration, a warm and personal tone, and insightful secrets to both educate and equip moms to be the best mothers they can be. This book will help any mom who wants to grow in her sacred role. Women who need encouragement or advice or who feel ill-equipped to be mothers will find the straight-forward evangelical perspective and practical advice life-changing. 

My Review: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
The author writes a book on being the best mom you can be, and while arguably, some of the advice is useful, other advice is so obvious that I’m not sure how you can be a parent and not automatically do it.
The first two chapters truly show this. The first one is showing your children love, raising them in a loving environment. The second is giving your children a sense of belonging within your family. These two chapters would have been excellent chapters for a book on blended families, a book on being the best step-mom you can be. Maybe I’m just naïve, but loving your children, showing them that love, and giving them a sense of belonging in your family should be natural, right?
Getting beyond that, I found some of the advice was hit or miss, but I did enjoy the questions and reflections at the end of each chapter.

You may find this book to be very helpful for you, it was so-so for me.

No comments:

Post a Comment