Pages

Thursday, October 20, 2016

#REVIEW: Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean


Title: Toward A Secret Sky
Author: Heather Maclean
Series: none
Publisher: Blink
Published Date: April 4, 2017
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9780310754749
Buy It Link: Amazon
Synopsis: Toward a Secret Sky by New York Times bestselling author Heather Maclean is a new breed of YA novel: an intelligent adventure-quest crossed with a sweeping, forbidden love story. A mix of reality and possibility, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer and Dan Brown as it leads the reader on a breathless flight through the highlands of Scotland, the secret city under London, and history itself.
Shortly after 17-year-old Maren Hamilton is orphaned and sent to live with grandparents she’s never met in Scotland, she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother that makes her and everyone around her a target. It confirms that her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that’s now intent on recruiting her. As Maren works to unravel the clues left behind by her mother, a murderous madness sweeps through the local population, terrorizing her small town. Maren must decide if she’ll continue her parents’ fight or stay behind to save her friends.
With the help of Gavin, an otherworldly mercenary she’s not supposed to fall in love with, and Graham, a charming aristocrat who is entranced with her, Maren races against the clock and around the country from palatial estates with twisted labyrinths to famous cathedrals with booby-trapped subterranean crypts to stay ahead of the enemy and find a cure. Along the way, she discovers the great truth of love: that laying down your life for another isn’t as hard as watching them sacrifice everything for you.
 

My Rating: 4 stars

My Review: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Scotland, angels, a secret paranormal society, a forbidden love...I loved it all. From the very beginning of the book, anyone who has lost a parent can completely relate to Maren, who is at her mother's funeral. Is this close to Dan Brown's writing? I didn't think so. I felt this was too YA to compete with Dan Brown's writing. However, it is a fantastic book that has all the great earmarks of a paranormal YA romance, almost like Lauren Kate's Fallen series.
The author did a wonderful job of recreating the gorgeous Scottish landscape in the reader's mind. The action had some highs and lows, at times some of the scenes started to lag behind. However, when it did, that was when the puzzles would come into the storyline and keep the reader engaged. The characters were quirky and empathetic. The insta-love is a little old but it is constantly a theme in today's YA books for the past few years or so.
Overall, it's a great read, and probably a book I would like to see continued, just to see how to relationship between Maren and Gavin ends up.


No comments:

Post a Comment